PCB Declares Squad For ICC Champion Trophy 2017

ICC Champion Trophy 2017 is all set to begin on 1st June in England and the head of National Selection Committee, Chief Selector Inzamam-ul-Haq has declared the 15-member squad.

A Statement issued by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) read as,

 “The team has been selected keeping in mind the conditions and the recent performances of some players in domestic and international tours”.

The former skipper Azhar Ali and Umar Akmal will also be the part of the squad.

The traditional rival Pakistan and India in Group B and will face each other on 4th June; the Indian team will try to defend the title.

The other three rival Australia, England and New Zealand are included in the group A.

England will have the honor of hosting the event for the third time. England team reached to final twice but first time defeated by West Indies while from India the second time.

Teams participating in the event are divided into two different groups. World champions Australia, England, New Zealand and Bangladesh teams are in Group A while Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka and South Africa in Group B.

The opening match of the ICC Champion Trophy 2017 will be played between England and Bangladesh. On the other hand Pakistani team will play its first match on 4th June against traditional rival India, second match against South Africa on June 7, while the third and final match against Sri Lanka on June 12.

The top two teams from each group will qualify for the semi-finals. Semi-finals will be played on 14 and 15 June while the final of the ICC Champion Trophy 2017 is scheduled for 18th June.

Pakistan Cricket Team Squad for ICC Champion Trophy:

Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Azhar Ali, Ahmed Shehzad,   Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Fakhar Zaman, Imad Wasim, Hasan Ali, Fahim Ashraf, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Junaid Khan and Shadab Khan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *